Week 22/23 Update

Ok, I suppose it’s time for an update. I intend to start doing this at least every two weeks for a while. I had wanted to chronicle my progress during this pregnancy through my blog, but alas, haven’t had the motivation to do so. Thanks morning sickness!! But I think I can do it now. I had the strangest side effect of morning sickness – I love to read blogs, but every time I would open one, I would feel so sick. It was extremely odd. lol Now I am over that and back at it! And be forewarned, there might be a bit of TMI in this post. If you are squeamish or just not interested in pregnancy stuff, feel free to skip this one!

I have to post 22/23 because my doctor’s office has me at 22 weeks, but according to my calculations from important dates I am 23 weeks. I am keeping track for my own purposes, it’s in my favor that they have me later. I do not want pressure to induce if I go over that estimated due date. I want this baby to stay in as long as he needs to. I am sure when I get close I will be more than ready to be done, but it’s not all about me!

So how is this pregnancy going? Really good!!! I am in the second trimester and in the glory days of pregnancy. I feel good, have pretty good energy, can eat most anything and rarely feel ill. I even have energy to work on projects around the house (so long as the power is cooperating!!).

What I’m noticing:

Baby is moving quite a bit at times, and he is strong! I guess I will have another active little monster like I did with Ashton, lol.

I seem to be carrying this little guy low, it’s an odd feeling.

I do have bouts of fatigue, seems to me to be more of an iron deficiency maybe. Time to evaluate my diet.

I have no cravings really, but this doesn’t surprise me much. I never craved anything with Ashton either. I eat a fairly good diet and keep a variety of foods. I think the only thing that I want more often is sushi (which I AM eating this time, in moderation and only certain types from one restaurant that I fully trust their product).

No swelling just yet, it would be nice to avoid this through the summer. I intend to wear support hose if needed (per my bf’s advice last pregnancy, so should have listened to her) and would like to avoid that in the heat.

My pants are officially not fitting – maternity pants are what I am wearing most. Although as I type this I am wearing some capris that I am keeping secured by looping a hair band through the button holes and looping over the button. Neat trick for wearing your pants longer. And thanks to some tutorials, I have made several of my own maternity bottoms on the cheap. I will be posting pics and links to the tutorials soon over at wherelovemeetslife soon.20120711-105056.jpg

I have been a little crampy at times with this one. I am sure that is due to chasing a toddler, and honestly forgetting I am pregnant at times. I need to take it easy sometimes.

I am feeling a strong desire to prepare myself mentally for this birth. I have even been doing practice breathing and calming techniques. I want to be prepared, and I want to feel like my coping strategy is in place and ready when the time comes.

I am writing a “cliff notes” guide to natural childbirth for Jeff. I figure, if he has an idea of what he can do to help me, it will make things easier on him, too. I know I would hate to stand around feeling useless, and he knows better than to fill his time during labor on his cell phone…. so I will give him pointers and a guide.

I didn’t show as soon as I expected that I would with this one. I have always heard your second pregnancy you show a little earlier. Not in my case! I started showing around 20-21 weeks – last time it was really close to the same. It may have been closer to 24 weeks last time, but really, 4 weeks isn’t that big of a difference to me at this point.

I have a strong feeling I am going to have this baby around October 26-31st. Hannah’s birthday is the 28th, mine is the 26th. I wanted to avoid having another birthday so close, but no dice! My edd are 11/5/12 and 11/11/12(which would be a cool birthday). So either way, we are going to have close birthdays. Oh well, can’t win em all.

So that is about it for now. I have busy work days coming up and a family vacation. Time is going to fly by. And once I can get some pictures, I will be updating everyone on some projects I have been working on in the last month.

Hope everyone is having a wonderful summer so far!

Leave a comment